Mastering it…

I was told on an internship once by a journalist, that there was no point in getting a Masters, employers wanted experience. The more experience in newsrooms you had the more likely you were to get a job, I was told.

Unfortunately this is no longer seems the case.

Like countless other graduates with a wealth of experience, training and a degree I am still left without a job. I continue to gain experience through internships and work experience but the problem is I am getting older, poorer and am still jobless. In those circumstances it’s hard to go for unpaid internships and work experience. I’ve mentioned it here, repeatedly and a close friend wrote about it here.

Though it was once unnecessary further education for journalism is being considered by more and more graduates. In theory it shows commitment, determination and will hopefully give you the edge on other applicants with less experience.

I recently decided that upon returning to Australia I would apply for Masters. I have had the hellish experience of putting together and organising countless applications, resumes, certified copies and transcripts.I have done this hoping to get into one of the increasingly competitive courses that many are turning to in order to increase their chances of getting a job.

The question I want to know is the debt, stress and sacrifice going to be worth it or am I going to be left in the same boat as last time?

It’s the most frustrating question because I don’t know the answer to it.

Unfortunately neither does anyone else.

I’d love to have your opinions on whether Masters, Grad Certificates and Diplomas are worth it, so please complete the poll below and share your thoughts in the comment section.

One response to “Mastering it…

  1. Pingback: The thick of it… | journey2journalism

Leave a comment